https://nepjol.info/index.php/HPROSPECT/issue/feed Health Prospect 2023-12-16T13:22:33+00:00 Aney Rijal hpec@iom.edu.np Open Journal Systems <p>Health Prospect is an open access and peer reviewed public health journal. Free full text articles are available.</p> <p>The journal is now accepting online submissions. For information on the process <a href="/index.php/HPROSPECT/information/authors" target="_self">click here</a>.</p> https://nepjol.info/index.php/HPROSPECT/article/view/59907 Comment on “A survey on human monkeypox infection among men who have sex with men in Nepal” 2023-12-16T13:22:33+00:00 hinpetch daungsupawong hinpetchdaung@gmail.comv viroj wiwanitkit wviroj@yahoo.com <p>n/a</p> 2024-01-17T00:00:00+00:00 Copyright (c) 2023 Health Prospect https://nepjol.info/index.php/HPROSPECT/article/view/49826 Researching Dalits and health care: Considering positionality 2022-11-25T11:46:46+00:00 Raksha Thapa rthapa@bournemouth.ac.uk Pramod Regmi pramod@bournemouth.ac.uk Edwin van Teijlingen edwin@bournemouth.ac.uk Vanessa Heaslip v.a.heaslip@salford.ac.uk <p>This methods paper explores the issue of the researcher’s positionality and its potential impact on the overall qualitative research process.&nbsp; After defining positionality this paper outlines its potential influences on the research process and findings.&nbsp; In order to illustrate the concept of positionality in a real-world example a case study approach is used based on the first author’s PhD research among Dalits in Nepal.&nbsp; The paper finishes by outlining some of the ways of addressing the issues arising from positionality of the researcher.</p> 2023-11-02T00:00:00+00:00 Copyright (c) 2023 Health Prospect https://nepjol.info/index.php/HPROSPECT/article/view/53504 Uncovering the knowledge gaps: A survey on human monkeypox infection among men who have sex with men in Nepal 2023-03-26T03:45:14+00:00 Kiran Paudel kiranpaudel59@gmail.com Kamal Gautam kamal.gautam@uconn.edu Md Safaet Hossain Sujan safaet_sujan@uconn.edu Jeffrey A Wickersham jeffrey.wickersham@yale.edu Prashu Ram Chaudhari prashusaathi@gmail.com Roman Shrestha roman.shrestha@uconn.edu <p>The monkeypox virus (MPX) poses a major threat to the health of people, especially among men who have sex with men (MSM). However, the knowledge regarding MPX among MSM in Nepal is poorly understood. Therefore, the present study aimed to assess the knowledge of human monkeypox among Nepalese MSM. A cross-sectional face-to-face survey was conducted among purposively selected 250 participants (mean age 27.6 ± 8.9 years) in Nepal between October and December2022. The questionnaire comprised of informed consent along with questions covering age, education, and MPX. The findings demonstrated that the majority of MSM in Nepal had poor knowledge of MPX. Around 87% of participants had no idea whether MPX is contagious or not. However, the results call for immediate action to improve knowledge of MSM through health education programs and appropriate interventions to halt the spread of MPX transmission.</p> 2023-11-02T00:00:00+00:00 Copyright (c) 2023 Health Prospect